Form of government: Semi-Presidential Republic

Independence Day: September 21, 1991

Capital: Yerevan (about 1.3 million)

Official language: Armenian

Area: 29,800 km²

Time zone: UTC + 4

Highest point: Aragats 4095 m above sea level

Population: 3.2 million (Sept. 2014)

Currency: Dram (AMD)

Telephone code: +374

Neighboring countries:
In the North: Georgia 164 km
In the West: Turkey 268 km
In the South: Iran 35 km
In the East: Azerbaijan 787 km

Provinces (marzer) and administrative centers

Yerevan: Capital
Population: 1,121,900
Aragatsotn Province: Ashtarak
Population: 168,100
Ararat: Artashat
Population: 311,400
Armavir: Armavir
Population: 323,300
Gegharkunik: Gavar
Population: 278,600
Kotayk: Hrazdan
Population: 328,900
Lori: Vanadzor
Population: 392,300
Shirak: Gyumri
Population: 361,400
Syunik: Kapan
Population: 164 000
Tavush: Ijevan
Population: 156 500
Vayots Dzor: Yeghegnadzor
Population: 69 400

Abovyan Street

Abovyan Street is one of the oldest streets of Yerevan. This prominent street was named after Khachatur Abovyan, the father of modern Armenian literature. 

En savoir plus


In the North of Armenia, in the Akhtala village of the Lori province there is a magical place, where many remarkable monuments are still preserved.

En savoir plus


Amaras is an Armenian monastery in Nagorno-Karabakh (Artsakh). The monastery was founded by St. Gregory Lusavorich (the Illuminator) in the 4th century.

En savoir plus


On the slopes of Aragats is located the impregnable fortress of Amberd, a landmark of medieval Armenian.

En savoir plus

Page 1 of 19