Form of government: Semi-Presidential Republic

Independence Day: September 21, 1991

Capital: Yerevan (about 1.3 million)

Official language: Armenian

Area: 29,800 km²

Time zone: UTC + 4

Highest point: Aragats 4095 m above sea level

Population: 3.2 million (Sept. 2014)

Currency: Dram (AMD)

Telephone code: +374

Neighboring countries:
In the North: Georgia 164 km
In the West: Turkey 268 km
In the South: Iran 35 km
In the East: Azerbaijan 787 km

Provinces (marzer) and administrative centers

Yerevan: Capital
Population: 1,121,900
Aragatsotn Province: Ashtarak
Population: 168,100
Ararat: Artashat
Population: 311,400
Armavir: Armavir
Population: 323,300
Gegharkunik: Gavar
Population: 278,600
Kotayk: Hrazdan
Population: 328,900
Lori: Vanadzor
Population: 392,300
Shirak: Gyumri
Population: 361,400
Syunik: Kapan
Population: 164 000
Tavush: Ijevan
Population: 156 500
Vayots Dzor: Yeghegnadzor
Population: 69 400

Parz Lake

One of the main tourist destinations in Armenia is cautiously "hidden" in Dilijan like an unpolished diamond, surrounded by natural wonders whose overall combination creates a timeless image. The Armenians would immediately guess that it is about Lake Parz (meaning "clear").

En savoir plus


The Mesrop Mashtots Institute of Ancient Manuscripts, or as Armenians call it Matenadaran, is a repository of ancient manuscripts, research institute, and museum in Yerevan.

En savoir plus


Amaras is an Armenian monastery in the Republic of Nagorno-Karabakh (Artsakh), in the Martuni region, which was founded in the 4th century by Gregory the Illuminator. Amaras is located in the middle of the Artsakh Valley.

En savoir plus

Page 19 of 19