Form of government: Semi-Presidential Republic

Independence Day: September 21, 1991

Capital: Yerevan (about 1.3 million)

Official language: Armenian

Area: 29,800 km²

Time zone: UTC + 4

Highest point: Aragats 4095 m above sea level

Population: 3.2 million (Sept. 2014)

Currency: Dram (AMD)

Telephone code: +374

Neighboring countries:
In the North: Georgia 164 km
In the West: Turkey 268 km
In the South: Iran 35 km
In the East: Azerbaijan 787 km

Provinces (marzer) and administrative centers

Yerevan: Capital
Population: 1,121,900
Aragatsotn Province: Ashtarak
Population: 168,100
Ararat: Artashat
Population: 311,400
Armavir: Armavir
Population: 323,300
Gegharkunik: Gavar
Population: 278,600
Kotayk: Hrazdan
Population: 328,900
Lori: Vanadzor
Population: 392,300
Shirak: Gyumri
Population: 361,400
Syunik: Kapan
Population: 164 000
Tavush: Ijevan
Population: 156 500
Vayots Dzor: Yeghegnadzor
Population: 69 400


Picturesque maintain chains, lush vegetation, rivers and waterfalls located in the South-Armenian province of Vayots Dzor transform the region of Herher into a majestic green paradise.

En savoir plus


Hayravank Monastery (also called Ayrivank, Hayrivank) is located in Gegharkunik Region, on the shores of Lake Sevan, not far from Hayravank Village. It dates back tothe 9th-12th centuries. The complex consists of the church, the chapel and a Gavit.

En savoir plus

Havuts Tar

Havuts Tar is a walled monastery from the 11th to the 13th century, which is located in the Kotayk Province. It is perched on a promontory along the Azat River valley opposite the villages Goght and Garni.

En savoir plus


The name of the village Harich has been known since the 2nd century BC, but it gained its significance after the founding of the monastery of the same name in the 7th century. Harich is the last major settlement on the slope of the Aragats.

En savoir plus