Form of government: Semi-Presidential Republic

Independence Day: September 21, 1991

Capital: Yerevan (about 1.3 million)

Official language: Armenian

Area: 29,800 km²

Time zone: UTC + 4

Highest point: Aragats 4095 m above sea level

Population: 3.2 million (Sept. 2014)

Currency: Dram (AMD)

Telephone code: +374

Neighboring countries:
In the North: Georgia 164 km
In the West: Turkey 268 km
In the South: Iran 35 km
In the East: Azerbaijan 787 km

Provinces (marzer) and administrative centers

Yerevan: Capital
Population: 1,121,900
Aragatsotn Province: Ashtarak
Population: 168,100
Ararat: Artashat
Population: 311,400
Armavir: Armavir
Population: 323,300
Gegharkunik: Gavar
Population: 278,600
Kotayk: Hrazdan
Population: 328,900
Lori: Vanadzor
Population: 392,300
Shirak: Gyumri
Population: 361,400
Syunik: Kapan
Population: 164 000
Tavush: Ijevan
Population: 156 500
Vayots Dzor: Yeghegnadzor
Population: 69 400


The monastery was built not far from the ruins of an older monastery named Getik, which was destroyed by an earthquake in 1188.

En savoir plus


The small town of Goris is located in the province of Syunik in southern Armenia. It is famous for breathtaking volcanic landscapes and thousands of housing estates dug into the rocks.

En savoir plus


In a very unique environment, at the height of the bank of the River Arpa, the monastery of Gndevank is located. It is situated in a small village Gndevaz, in the region Vayots Dzor. From the side of the village, you can not reach the monastery.

En savoir plus


Bjni is a village in the Armenian province of Kotayk, located in a valley between the gorges and a small river. The village is one of the leading centres of education and culture of ancient and medieval Armenia. It is the birthplace of the scholar Grigor Magistros, who lived in the 11th century.

En savoir plus


The area stretches from the surrounding mountains of the Lake Sevan to the east to the River Araks. Nagorno Karabakh or Artsakh has been called by a variety of names in each historical epoch, which always caused confusion: Urtekhe-Urtekhini, Orkhistene, Artsakh, Tsavdek, Khachen, and Karabakh.

En savoir plus