Form of government: Semi-Presidential Republic

Independence Day: September 21, 1991

Capital: Yerevan (about 1.3 million)

Official language: Armenian

Area: 29,800 km²

Time zone: UTC + 4

Highest point: Aragats 4095 m above sea level

Population: 3.2 million (Sept. 2014)

Currency: Dram (AMD)

Telephone code: +374

Neighboring countries:
In the North: Georgia 164 km
In the West: Turkey 268 km
In the South: Iran 35 km
In the East: Azerbaijan 787 km

Provinces (marzer) and administrative centers

Yerevan: Capital
Population: 1,121,900
Aragatsotn Province: Ashtarak
Population: 168,100
Ararat: Artashat
Population: 311,400
Armavir: Armavir
Population: 323,300
Gegharkunik: Gavar
Population: 278,600
Kotayk: Hrazdan
Population: 328,900
Lori: Vanadzor
Population: 392,300
Shirak: Gyumri
Population: 361,400
Syunik: Kapan
Population: 164 000
Tavush: Ijevan
Population: 156 500
Vayots Dzor: Yeghegnadzor
Population: 69 400


On the slopes of Aragats is located the impregnable fortress of Amberd, a landmark of medieval Armenian.

En savoir plus


St. Hovhannes or Srbanes Monastery, which is also known as St. Hovhan Odznetsi Monastery (built in the 8th-17th C.) is located in the village of Ardvi, in Lori province. The monastic complex includes two churches and a belfry. Nearby there are also khachkars (cross-stones), and ancient temple ruins of household buildings and dwellings. 

En savoir plus


Mount Aragats is one of the highest mountains of the Armenian Highlands situated in northwest Armenia. 

En savoir plus

Ara ler

Ara Ler (Mount Ara) lies in two provinces - Kotayk and Aragatsotn. It is a polygenetic stratovolcanic cone with the height of 2585m.

En savoir plus


On the plateau near the city of Sissian, amidst abundant vegetation, one can find the highest waterfall in Armenia: Shaki.

En savoir plus