Form of government: Semi-Presidential Republic

Independence Day: September 21, 1991

Capital: Yerevan (about 1.3 million)

Official language: Armenian

Area: 29,800 km²

Time zone: UTC + 4

Highest point: Aragats 4095 m above sea level

Population: 3.2 million (Sept. 2014)

Currency: Dram (AMD)

Telephone code: +374

Neighboring countries:
In the North: Georgia 164 km
In the West: Turkey 268 km
In the South: Iran 35 km
In the East: Azerbaijan 787 km

Provinces (marzer) and administrative centers

Yerevan: Capital
Population: 1,121,900
Aragatsotn Province: Ashtarak
Population: 168,100
Ararat: Artashat
Population: 311,400
Armavir: Armavir
Population: 323,300
Gegharkunik: Gavar
Population: 278,600
Kotayk: Hrazdan
Population: 328,900
Lori: Vanadzor
Population: 392,300
Shirak: Gyumri
Population: 361,400
Syunik: Kapan
Population: 164 000
Tavush: Ijevan
Population: 156 500
Vayots Dzor: Yeghegnadzor
Population: 69 400


Picturesque maintain chains, lush vegetation, rivers and waterfalls located in the South-Armenian province of Vayots Dzor transform the region of Herher into a majestic green paradise. 

En savoir plus


Horomayr is a monastery complex located in the northern province of Lori, about 1km south of the village of Odzun.

En savoir plus


Horomos is an Armenian monastic complex, located about 15km northwest of Ani in the central district of the province of Kars close to the Turkish-Armenian border. It used to be one of the most important religious and cultural centers of the Armenian kingdom of Ani.

En savoir plus


The Hovhannavank Monastery of St. John the Baptist, dating back to the 9th century is regarded as a gem of Armenian architecture.  

En savoir plus