Form of government: Semi-Presidential Republic

Independence Day: September 21, 1991

Capital: Yerevan (about 1.3 million)

Official language: Armenian

Area: 29,800 km²

Time zone: UTC + 4

Highest point: Aragats 4095 m above sea level

Population: 3.2 million (Sept. 2014)

Currency: Dram (AMD)

Telephone code: +374

Neighboring countries:
In the North: Georgia 164 km
In the West: Turkey 268 km
In the South: Iran 35 km
In the East: Azerbaijan 787 km

Provinces (marzer) and administrative centers

Yerevan: Capital
Population: 1,121,900
Aragatsotn Province: Ashtarak
Population: 168,100
Ararat: Artashat
Population: 311,400
Armavir: Armavir
Population: 323,300
Gegharkunik: Gavar
Population: 278,600
Kotayk: Hrazdan
Population: 328,900
Lori: Vanadzor
Population: 392,300
Shirak: Gyumri
Population: 361,400
Syunik: Kapan
Population: 164 000
Tavush: Ijevan
Population: 156 500
Vayots Dzor: Yeghegnadzor
Population: 69 400


Beyond Lake Sevan, after crossing the picturesque pass of green valleys of Dilijan, the resort opens before you.

En savoir plus


The fortified monastery of Hagpat overlooks a village of the same name. It is one of three fascinating buildings, inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

En savoir plus


The name of the village Harich has been recognized since the 2nd millennium BC. It acquired major importance thanks to the establishment of the monastery of the same name in the 7th century. Harich is the last largest settlement on the slope of Mount Aragats.

En savoir plus


The Hayravank Monastery is situated on a rock ledge, on the shore of Lake Sevan. The small church dates from the late 5th century. In the 12th and 13th C., a large vestibule was attached to the western side of the monastery. 

En savoir plus