Form of government: Semi-Presidential Republic

Independence Day: September 21, 1991

Capital: Yerevan (about 1.3 million)

Official language: Armenian

Area: 29,800 km²

Time zone: UTC + 4

Highest point: Aragats 4095 m above sea level

Population: 3.2 million (Sept. 2014)

Currency: Dram (AMD)

Telephone code: +374

Neighboring countries:
In the North: Georgia 164 km
In the West: Turkey 268 km
In the South: Iran 35 km
In the East: Azerbaijan 787 km

Provinces (marzer) and administrative centers

Yerevan: Capital
Population: 1,121,900
Aragatsotn Province: Ashtarak
Population: 168,100
Ararat: Artashat
Population: 311,400
Armavir: Armavir
Population: 323,300
Gegharkunik: Gavar
Population: 278,600
Kotayk: Hrazdan
Population: 328,900
Lori: Vanadzor
Population: 392,300
Shirak: Gyumri
Population: 361,400
Syunik: Kapan
Population: 164 000
Tavush: Ijevan
Population: 156 500
Vayots Dzor: Yeghegnadzor
Population: 69 400


The Stepanavan dendropark is a beautiful arboretum in Lori, a northern province of Armenia. It was the first botanical garden in Armenia, established in 1931 by Polish engineer-forester Edmon Leonovich. 

En savoir plus


Dilijan is famous for its clean air, stunning landscapes and mineral water, as well as for its traditional houses, chalets with carved wooden gables and large glazed verandas. It offers a pleasant and relaxed natural atmosphere. 

En savoir plus


The seat of the Aghovanian Catholicos since the Middle Ages, the monastery was founded in 1216 by Prince Hasan Jalalian, protector of the convent. 

En savoir plus


Rising amidst a stunning natural landscape, the Temple of Garni can be spotted. It is the only monument of Hellenistic culture in the territory of Armenia. The whole area extends on the right bank of the river Azat. The area has been inhabited since the 5th century BC. Due to the simple elegance, this Ionic colonnaded temple is considered an eloquent testimony of the Hellenistic architecture in Armenia.

En savoir plus