The Goshavank Monastery is located in the densely wooded valley of the Gosh village in the Tavush province. It was built in the 12th century by a famous Armenian medieval scholar, Mkhitar Gosh.

The oldest part of the complex, the Mother of God Church was built in 1191. The gavit can be found on the west side of the church which dates from the beginning of the 13th century. The colonnade connects the gavit with another building, which was used as a library (1241). It is believed that the bell tower (1291) was located on the first floor. The style of the small “Surb Grigor’’ Church, whose construction was completed in 1241, is very similar to the Mother of God Church. The most outstanding building of the monastery is, of course, the small chapel of St. Grigor the Illuminator.