Haritchavank

The name of the village Harich has been recognized since the 2nd millennium BC. It acquired major importance thanks to the establishment of the monastery of the same name in the 7th century. Harich is the last largest settlement on the slope of Mount Aragats.

The Church of St. Gregory the Enlightener was the first one to be built here. Only at the beginning of the 13th century, the ruling family of the Zakaryans built today’s main church, the Church of the Holy Mother of God.

The other buildings were built in the 19th century: the monastery museum and other small buildings, essential for monastery management.
Formerly, the complex was used as summer residence of the Catholicos. Many famous Armenian writers of the 20th century studied in the monastery school of Harichavank, among them Avetik Isahakyan (1887-1889).

This monastery used to be the scientific center of Armenia. Today, one of the oldest bibles, written in the Harichavank Monastery in 1291 is held at the Matenadaran. Also today, as many students study at seminary of Harichavanak, the monastery continues being a significant spiritual center.