Tsitsernakaberd

High atop the hill Tsitsernakaberd, translated as “swallow’s fortress’’, opposite Mount Ararat one can have a fantastic view of the capital. On the hill’s summit stands an impressive modern monument commemorating the victims of the Armenian Genocide of 1915. 

The monument which opened in 1967, was designed by architects Tarkhanyan and Kalashyan. The central memorial structures occupy a huge area designed by massive pylons, the tips of which seem as if they were cut away. The monument consists of 12 slightly inward-leaning slabs forming a circle. In the center of the circle burns the eternal flame. The monument represents a symbolic grave of more than 1.5 million Armenian women, children and men who were expelled and murdered by the Ottoman Empire from April 1915 to the winter of 1915-16.

Nearby, there is an arrow-shaped obelisk, 44 meters high, symbolizing the survival and spiritual rebirth of the Armenian people. It dominates the long “wailing-wall” with inscriptions of the names of the villages and cities of Historic Western Armenia. The names are engraved with “iron letters’’.

Every year on April 24, on the commemoration day, thousands of people from all over the world go on a pilgrimage to the Yerevanian hill of Tsitsernakaberd and lay flowers to the memory of the victims.